You are viewing

Format: 2018-06-20
Format: 2018-06-20

Monday, June 11, 2018

Broadwalk Border in midsummer
Learning and short courses
Monday 11 June 2018, 5.30pm to 9pm

Photo walk: A midsummer's evening in Kew Gardens

A rare opportunity to join a professional nature photographer, who will help you use the summer light to create stunning photos. 11 June. FULLY BOOKED - waiting list only.
For more details
Please email adulted@kew.org or call 020 8332 5641

Wednesday, June 13, 2018

Using a microscope to study plant specimens
Learning and short courses
Choose either Wednesday 13 or Thursday 14 June 2018, 10.30am to 4pm

Plant identification skills

Learn how to identify plants in your garden and UK wildflowers, and go on a guided walk with a Kew scientist. 13 or 14 June.
For more details
Please email adulted@kew.org or call 020 8332 5641

Thursday, June 14, 2018

Using a microscope to study plant specimens
Learning and short courses
Choose either Wednesday 13 or Thursday 14 June 2018, 10.30am to 4pm

Plant identification skills

Learn how to identify plants in your garden and UK wildflowers, and go on a guided walk with a Kew scientist. 13 or 14 June.
For more details
Please email adulted@kew.org or call 020 8332 5641

Tuesday, June 26, 2018

Kew Diploma students working on the Great Broad Walk Borders
Learning and short courses
Tuesday 26 June 2018, 10.30am to 4.30pm

Right plant, right place

Create a successful planting scheme with expert guidance from horticulturist and award-winning author Christine Lavelle. 26 June.
For more details
Please email adulted@kew.org or call 020 8332 5626

Thursday, June 28, 2018

Pink daisy (Image: Jim Holden)
Learning and short courses
Thursday 28 June, 10.30am to 4.30pm

Small gardens day

Discover new techniques to help the smallest of spaces deliver maximum impact. 28 June.
For more details
Please email adulted@kew.org or call 020 8332 5641

Saturday, July 7, 2018

Thymus serphyllum in flower
Learning and short courses
Saturday 7 July 2018, 10.30am to 4.30pm

Planning and tending a herb garden

Get expert help in designing and creating your dream herb garden, with both edible and ornamental herbs. 7 July.
For more details
Please email adulted@kew.org or call 020 8332 5641

Thursday, July 12, 2018

Great Broad Walk Borders
Learning and short courses
Thursday 12 July 2018, 10.30am to 4pm

Designing a summer border

Get advice and inspiration from the designer of Kew's Great Broad Walk Borders. 12 July.
For more details
Please email adulted@kew.org or call 020 8332 5626

Saturday, July 14, 2018 to Sunday, July 15, 2018

Illustrations montage
Learning and short courses
Saturday 14 and Sunday 15 July 2018, 10.30am to 4pm

Botany for botanical illustrators

Improve your artwork with this practical two-day workshop on the structure of plants. 14 and 15 July.
For more details
Please email adulted@kew.org or call 020 8332 5641

Tuesday, July 24, 2018 to Thursday, July 26, 2018

Engraving of sweet pea plants by Pierre Joseph Redouté
Learning and short courses
Tuesday 24 to Thursday 26 July 2018, 10.30am to 4pm.

Watercolour workshop: sweet peas

Discover new colour-mixing and painting techniques on this practical course with an expert botanical artist. 24 to 26 July. FULLY BOOKED - waiting list only.
For more details
Please email adulted@kew.org or call 020 8332 5641

Tuesday, August 14, 2018

Tulips in spring
Learning and short courses
Tuesday 14 to Thursday 16 August 2018, 10.30am to 4pm

Introduction to painting with acrylics

Discover the versatility of this vibrant and easy-to-use medium and get top tips from an expert on this three-day course. 14 to 16 August.
For more details
Please email adulted@kew.org or call 020 8332 5641

Monday, September 3, 2018

Illustrations collection
Learning and short courses
Course starts from Monday 3 September 2018

Kew Certificate in Botanical Illustration

Gain in-depth knowledge of all aspects of botanical illustration on this modular course leading to the Kew Certificate. The 2018/19 programme begins in September 2018.
For more details
Please email adulted@kew.org or call 020 8332 5641

Thursday, September 6, 2018

Plant Family Beds in summer
Learning and short courses
Thursday 6 September 2018, 10.30 to 4.30pm

Gardening for beginners

Improve your knowledge of growing and maintaining plants in your garden with this one-day course led by award-winning author Christine Lavelle. 6 September.
For more details
Please email adulted@kew.org or call 020 8332 5641

Monday, September 10, 2018 to Friday, September 14, 2018

Fitch's completed Victoria regia plate
Learning and short courses
Monday 10 to Friday 14 September 2018

Botanical illustration for beginners

Join our entry level course to learn the basics of botanical illustration and pick up tips from a professional botanical artist. 10-14 September. FULLY BOOKED - waiting list only
For more details
Please email adulted@kew.org or call 0208 332 5641

Tuesday, September 11, 2018 to Tuesday, October 16, 2018

The Arboretum at Kew
Learning and short courses
Tuesdays 11, 18, 25 September and 2, 9 and 16 October 2018, 2pm to 4.30pm

Mindfulness

Improve your well-being on this six-day mindfulness course at Kew Gardens. On various Tuesdays from September to October.
For more details
Please email adulted@kew.org or call 020 8332 5641

Saturday, September 22, 2018 to Sunday, September 23, 2018

Pomegranates by Ann Schweizer from the Shirley Sherwood Collection
Learning and short courses
Saturday 22 to Sunday 23 September 2018, 10.30am - 4pm

Watercolour workshop: painting on vellum

Try a different approach to watercolour by painting on vellum, a traditional material that has been used for centuries. 22 to 23 September
For more details
Please email adulted@kew.org or call 020 8332 5626

Wednesday, September 26, 2018

Black walnut tree at Kew
Learning and short courses
Wednesday 26 or Thursday 27 September, 10.30am to 4.30pm

Drawing trees

This one day course is an introduction to drawing trees with a focus on composition, scale, experimentation, and texture. 26 OR 27 September 2018.
For more details
Please email adulted@kew.org or call 020 8332 5641

Thursday, September 27, 2018

Black walnut tree at Kew
Learning and short courses
Wednesday 26 or Thursday 27 September, 10.30am to 4.30pm

Drawing trees

This one day course is an introduction to drawing trees with a focus on composition, scale, experimentation, and texture. 26 OR 27 September 2018.
For more details
Please email adulted@kew.org or call 020 8332 5641

Tuesday, October 2, 2018 to Thursday, October 4, 2018

Bonne pears growing in the kitchen garden at Kew
Learning and short courses
Tuesday 2 to Thursday 4 October 2018, 10.30am to 4pm

Watercolour workshop: autumn fruits

Learn how to paint realistic images of autumn fruits on this three-day course using whole fruit as well as halved ones. 2 to 4 October.
For more details
Please email adulted@kew.org or call 020 8332 5641

Thursday, October 11, 2018 to Wednesday, November 14, 2018

Broadwalk Bborders
Learning and short courses
Thursdays 11, 18 October, and Wednesdays 7, 14 November 2018, 10.30am to 4.30pm

Designing your own personal garden

This four-day course will guide you on the first steps to designing your own garden. 11, 18 October and 7, 14 November.
For more details
Please email adulted@kew.org or call 020 8332 5641

Saturday, October 13, 2018

Autumn at Kew
Learning and short courses
Saturday 13 October 2018, 10.30am to 4.30pm

Autumn photography masterclass

Capture the autumn splendour of Kew in this small group photography masterclass led by world-renowned flower and garden photographer Clive Nichols. 13 October.
How to book
Please email adulted@kew.org or call 020 8332 5626

Saturday, October 20, 2018 to Sunday, October 21, 2018

Fungi in autumn
Learning and short courses
Saturday 20 - Sunday 21 October, 10.30am - 4pm

Pen and Ink Workshop: Fungi

Be inspired by the diverse world of fungi on this weekend course. You will use pen and ink to explore shape, shading and structure. 20 to 21 October.
For more details
Please email adulted@kew.org or call 020 8332 5641

Monday, October 29, 2018 to Friday, November 9, 2018

Botanical illustrations from Curtis's Botanical Magazine
Learning and short courses
Monday 29 October to Friday 9 November 2018

Intermediate botanical illustration

An excellent opportunity to develop your skills alongside a professional botanical artist. 29 October - Friday 9 November.
For more details
Please email adulted@kew.org or call 020 8332 5641