Margaret Mee Fellowship Programme

  • To enhance UK-Brazilian scientific programmes through the provision of artistic and scientific fellowships for visiting artists and botanists, including support for researchers to work with UK taxonomic specialists.
  • To capitalise on Margaret Mee's life and work, and on the Amazon Collection in particular, by educating people about tropical American biodiversity and conservation.
  • To ensure that the work of the Margaret Mee organizations enhances the UK's collaborative work with Brazilian plant scientists to help conserve biodiversity.
The Programme

Since 1997 the Margaret Mee Amazon Trust and its successor, the Margaret Mee Fellowship Programme (administered by the Foundation and Friends of the Royal Botanic Gardens Kew) have awarded 121 Fellowships for Brazilians to come to Britain to further their knowledge. Fourteen of these Fellowships have been awarded to botanical illustrators and 88 to biologists.

In close collaboration with its sister organization the Fundação Botânica Margaret Mee (an independent Brazilian charity), the programme has financed Fellowships in disciplines ranging from plant anatomy and taxonomy to plant-animal interactions and conservation. Meanwhile the botanical illustration programme has refined the technical expertise of Brazilian artists to a high level, providing important assistance in the proper identification and naming of plants.

The importance of the programme is demonstrated by the substantial contributions to plant science and conservation that Brazilian Fellows have gone on to make in their home country.

Fellowships awarded

The Margaret Mee Fellowship Programme is administered on behalf of the Foundation and Friends of the Royal Botanic Gardens Kew by:

General Committee

Dr Nicholas Hind (Chairman)
Dr Simon Mayo
Ms Lucy Blythe
Dr Raymond Harley
Sir Peter Heap
The Hon. Christopher McLaren
Mr Greville Mee
Mr Brian Stannard
Ms Marilyn Ward
Dr Daniela Zappi

Mr Michael Daly CMG (Hon Secretary)

Fellowship Committee

Dr Nicholas Hind (Chairman)
Dr Simon Mayo
Mr Brian Stannard
Dr Daniela Zappi


Mr Michael Daly CMG, Hon. Secretary, Margaret Mee Fellowship Programme, Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, Richmond, Surrey TW9 3AE, United Kingdom; telephone 0208-332-5725; fax 0208-332-5278; email

Back to top